“Frost Burn” by K. T. Munson and Nichelle Rae Review:

*I received a copy of Frost Burn in exchange for a review, but it in no way influenced my opinions of the book.* 

Title: Frost Burn

Authors: K.T. Munson and Nichelle Rae

Rating: 3/5 Stars

Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: Self-Published

Format Read: ebook

Synopsis: (spoiler free from le goodreads)

Fire and Frost; no two nations have ever been so divided. Only two bridges across the great River Gora connects them and their long standing hatred. When spring comes early the Frost Nation looks upon the Fire Nation with suspicion. Soon they will discover that the rising rivers, warmer temperatures, and the quakes are all a result of something far more terrifying then each other. When the world seems to turn against them they will only have each other to look to. Can they put their differences aside long enough to fix their planet?

They must or face extinction.

Things I liked: (spoilers marked)

i. Present Day Issues: Both the Fire and Frost nations blamed each other for their problems which I feel is a present day issue. I kept thinking to myself “this is so frustrating why don’t they just work together clearly they need each other or they’re going to die!!” And then it hit me that nations today literally do the exact same thing.

ii. Positive Relationships: I love Coor and Thea! They have such a strong, positive relationship built up over time which I think is kind of rare in YA (and books in general) and would be good for younger viewers to see. There was romance in the book, but it wasn’t the focus of the story which was much appreciated.

iii. The Flow: Despite being written by two authors, this book flows so seamlessly! I also loved how the chapters bounce back and forth between frost and fire, it keeps the story from ever getting slow and always kept me engaged.

iv. Sweet Scenes: A couple scenes truly stood out to me. The scene between Kirill and Thea where she puts snow on him made my heart melt! The two nations are finally working together and befriending each other. I thought this scene was so important and beautiful. (***MILD SPOILER***) On a less sweet note, I also liked the scene of Ekil and Tulya and the acid, it was very suspenseful!

v. The Non-Romantic Relationships: the non-romantic relationships were just as important as the romantic ones!! Friendships and sibling bonds were just as important as the romantic relationships and I love that!!

vi. QUEEN POWER: the main queens and the villian were all female?? YES.

vii. High Stakes: (***SPOILER***) I loved how Kirill heals Thea with his ice but there is still irreparable damage, it was very realistic. It drives me crazy when authors build up these stakes but then everything works out perfectly for their characters. If the stakes are that high, it makes sense that not everyone is going to make it out at the end of the book.

Things I didn’t like: (spoiler free)

i. Language: I’ll admit, sometimes the writing was a little hard to get through! There was a lot of repetitive speech, some grammar issues, vague phrasing and some word choice I disliked. HOWEVER, I won’t critique too harshly because this book was self published and all of those issues are minor when compared to the amazing plot :).

ii. Confusing Genre: This was my main issue with Frost Burn, and the only reason I didn’t give it a higher rating! Although this book is marketed as adult fantasy, the voice, language and writing style all made me think of a middle grade or YA novel. Yet there is a very explicit sex scene, so I know the authors intended this book to be for adults. In summary: I think the authors need to consider either taking out the sex scene and marketing it to a younger audience to better fit the language/writing style already present in the book OR they need to change some of the language/word choice/etc. to have this book truly fit into the adult genre.

ALL IN ALL A LOVELY BOOK! Thank you so much to the authors for sending me a free copy of their novel in exchange for a review. Hopefully I’ll see a Frost Burn sequel soon!! ❤

If you are an author interested in sending me a book in exchange for a review please don’t hesitate to email me!

Leave a Reply

