February Wrap Up:

February wasn’t that good of a reading month for me, but I’m hoping to read more next month!

The Awakening by Kate Chopin: 4/5 stars

Synopsis: When first published in 1899, The Awakening shocked readers with its honest treatment of female marital infidelity. Audiences accustomed to the pieties of late Victorian romantic fiction were taken aback by Chopin’s daring portrayal of a woman trapped in a stifling marriage, who seeks and finds passionate physical love outside the confines of her domestic situation.

Edna Pontellier goes through a spiritual and emotional awakening and learns to think and support herself in a male dominated world. During her summer vacation, Edna meets handsome Robert Lebrun, and the two fall into a passionate affair. Edna starts to experience a change in herself and rebels against her husband and societal standards. She realizes she is more than simply a wife or a mother, and she refuses to give up any part of herself to please others.

This truly is the feminist novel of an era– and a must read for all women today. Edna is a boss ass bitch who does what she wants and gives the middle finger to everyone who tells her no or that she doesn’t fit in. Although slow at parts, this novel is phenomenal and I cannot recommend it enough. Definitely worth the time and effort to read.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber: 3/5 stars

See my review a couple posts back :))

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James: 2/5 stars

Synopsis: When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.   Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

This book is just sooooo controversial I had to add my review! The first time I read this book I literally just skimmed and read all the sex scenes. Lol I’m a rebel I know. But this time I listened to the entire audiobook so I could finally make up my mind about fifty shades.

Stuff I couldn’t stand:

– the writing style just like the word choice makes me cringe

– “oh my”

– “I flushed”

– the whole subconscious/inner goddess multi personality disorder literally drove me up the wall cliche

– she didn’t know she was beautiful until she met a man uGH

I do really like Ana though. Like she’s snarky and #relatable She doesn’t let Christian just boss her around? Like people say she immediately becomes submissive and I’m like no. she doesn’t. she fights back, and challenges him and says no, and the only reason she lets him do certain things is because she can handle it and she knows he enjoys it (BUT she says multiple times she wouldn’t let him to the stuff he enjoys to her if she didn’t feel comfortable with it!)

This book is NOT abusive. Ana and Christian are consenting adults. She agrees to everything he does to her. yes, the final scene with the belt did make me extremely uncomfortable, but Ana wanted to do it. She literally asked him to. And she didn’t use either of the safe words. Yes Christian is bossy and controlling, but Ana agrees and consents to everything he does. Most of the time she enjoys it. Again, they are CONSENTING ADULTS and when Ana tells him no, EVEN BY ONLY USING HER BODY LANGUAGE he immediately stops. K now that thats out of the way…

I think Christian is a cutie. He’s scary but like he’s cute and steamy so I tolerate him. Like I’ve never read anything like his character before if that makes sense. Would I want to be in a relationship with him? No, but I really didn’t dislike him. Nor did I dislike Ana, so I felt like this book had a lot of potential if it was developed a little more.

There wasn’t really a plot it just seemed like sex and Ana debating with herself if she wanted to be in a BDSM relationship or not. Like there is no plot. There is only steamy sex. Did I enjoy the steamy sex? Hell yes I did. But there is no plot lol. Yes I only read this book bc of the sex I’m an adult I do what I want. And the sex didn’t disappoint hahahahaha people are like the sex scenes aren’t even well written and I’m like um no ur lying it is very well written. It is steamy and I love it. But again I’m I going to give a horribly written book a good star rating just because of the sex? No.

BDSM RELATIONSHIPS DO NOT EQUAL ABUSIVE RELATIONSHIPS!! -as a sidenote I do NOT think fifty shades of grey accurately portrays a healthy BDSM relationship but I digress.

Christian does NOT rape or abuse Ana literally she consents and even asks him to do everything?? YAY ok so if you want a steamy steamy novel that will sometimes make you smile/sometimes make you cringe this is it! But seriously it is ok to like this book. It is also ok to not like this book. Goodday :))

2 thoughts on “February Wrap Up:

    1. Thank you so much! Oh my gosh you definitely need to read it, it’s definitely a difficult read (very slow at parts) but definitely worth it!! It ended up being on of my favorite reads of the semester for my english class. A lot of people argue that Edna isn’t a feminist and I’m just like ??? but I would love to hear your opinion after you read it!! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

